Notices

Wife of an Addict, Fearful & Alone

Old 10-06-2013, 11:44 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Wife of an Addict, Fearful & Alone

Hi All,

I'm a Sober Recovery newbie. I'm somewhat relieved that I am able to share my feelings here, but at the same time I am very sad that I have no one else to turn to right now because I am all alone.

My husband is an addict and an intravenous drug user. We have been together for 4 years and our 1 year anniversary is just a month away. I am very familiar with the pain that comes along with loving an addict, but over the past few months it has become unbearable. I live in fear every day. Every day I prepare myself that it will be the day that I get a phone call saying that he has overdosed and died. I know I am codependent, I bleed codependence! It is so difficult for me to detach and walk away from him because I fear that if I do I will lose him. So I have continued to enable him just to keep him in my life. It isn't fair to me or him for me to continue contributing to his addiction and drug abuse, but I am just so weak and I never follow through with my empty threats. Well, I didn't until two nights ago.

After watching the man I love self-destrict for four years, I finally had enough. I don't know what happened, I don't know how I found the strength to finally put my foot down, but I did. I somehow found the courage to ask my father for help, I couldn't get him to leave my house on my own. I feel horrible for having to involve my parents in all of this, but I had no one else to turn to.