Notices

Not sure where I fit in here

Old 10-06-2013, 10:58 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Not sure where I fit in here

As a newbie I'm not sure where I fit in here. I have searched the boards and read alot of stories and can identify with some. I guess I should share my story and maybe I can get some advice without getting beat up on. I came here to find some answers on how to move forward with my life.

My ex husband and I split up 3 years ago, I started drinking on the weekends to kind of cope with the pain of my failed marriage, we had been together for 15 years. I ended up getting into a relationship with a drug addict, he was addicted to crack and sometimes took pills. I stupidly thought I could help this man. I gave up drinking for the most part and tried to focus on helping my new found love conquer his addiction. At first I didn't know his was as bad as it was, but I soon found out it was worse than I expected. I kept thinking if I could be a positive influence in his life maybe he would give it up, but he had been an addict for 20 years. Yes we had good moments in our relationship, but the good was overshadowed by the bad; and when it was bad it was really bad, he stole from me and went into rages thankfully he never hit me. I found myself on the same path as him for about a year and a half, I was smarter than that but ended up doing the stuff myself.