Frustrated

Old 10-05-2013, 06:45 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Frustrated

Hi all, I am new to SR as of tonight. I have spent the last 5 years with an alcoholic and my life has been impacted in so many ways. I never thought my life would be here. I am in my late 20's, I have a master's degree in literacy, have been teaching 5th grade for 4 years, and even started coaching soccer this year. I have had the dream of getting married and having children since as long as I can remember. I have worked and worked to get to where I am and have realized that if I continue on in the direction I've been headed in, the life I've wanted and have worked to have will never be.

My life is gripped by my boyfriend's alcoholism. He is a very talented musician which has been the double edge sword of our relationship. He loves playing music and I appreciate his talent, but playing music means being in bars/restaurants 3-4 nights a week. When I first met my boyfriend he was sober, and now I know why. I never realized how bad it could get...and now I'm living a nightmare. These should be some of the best days of my life, and instead I'm living a life of pain, frustration, fear, anxiety, etc. all because of his choice to drink. I've left him twice before, the longest time being 3 months. But we have always gotten back together because in my heart I truly thought he could change. I kept telling myself he's gotten sober before, he can do it again. Well, it hasn't happened yet which is why I left tonight. I moved my things out of our home and into my parent's house and am struggling to make sense of the disaster that my life seems to be. I keep telling myself that this is for the best and that if I want a better life for myself, then this is how it has to be. Right now though, I'm having a hard time making sense of it all.
Old 10-05-2013, 07:38 PM
  # 2 (permalink)