Notices

Just cannot break this cycle..

Old 09-28-2013, 09:25 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Just cannot break this cycle..

Hello everyone, I am really glad that I found this website, there seems to be a lot of good info on quitting the bottle. Sorry if this post drags out but this is my first time putting my thoughts down on my drinking problem and I'm really hoping that maybe some of you can chime in on your experiences. I would really appreciate any input

I am a young alcoholic, only 22 years old. I started drinking at age 13 with a friend in high school. It started off fine, I would only drink once a month max, but always until intoxication. I have always had a little bit of social anxiety so when I first discovered how wonderful it felt to be drunk I fell in love with alcohol. I never really knew this was alcoholism however. I thought that since it is legal it must be okay right? I actually thought it was better than other less harmful illegal drugs such as marijuana just because it was legal. So I always thought I was doing better than my friends who smoked by choosing alcohol instead. I also grew up around a father who is a functional alcoholic and a family that loves to drink and have fun on the holidays. So drinking has always seemed like something that everyone does for fun and that being drunk was just a part of life. My dad let me drink at the age of 18.