Notices

Feeling fat and alcohol

Old 09-23-2013, 10:40 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Feeling fat and alcohol

I am new to sobriety, my longest time sober is 21 days and today I am on day 2....I am so ready to give up drinking and I have seen a huge improvement in my life since having some time of sobriety....but I never can make it past 21 days. I also have an eating disorder and always used alcohol to suppress my appetite, everyone knows if I'm drinking, I won't be eating. However, when I'm hungover I usually feel so bad I will eat way too much trying to feel better and then feel fat and want to "fast with alcohol" again because I've somehow convinced myself alcohol is good for my weight when I've gained so much weight from this cycle and only started to lose some this year that I've manage to cut down my drinking...so while my rational brain knows that drinking is only going to make me fat bloated and wrinkly, my alcohol brain tells me this isn't true. And right now I am still hungover and ate too much the past few days and have gained weight and I hate that so bad and know if I cut down my calories too much I will crave alcohol, or sugar...both really bad things when you have an eating disorder/ alcohol addiction.....anyways I guess I just wanted to say this because it's one thing that always makes me drink again and again and it's irrational and I need to be honest with myself that this thinking is insanity and all the work at the gym and jogging I've done is all but wasted after I binge drink....I just don't want to be fat....and I hate that once again alcohol has brought me nothing but grief and set me back....this time I am determined to change, i started aa and I've told friends what I am doing. I am so sick of feeling less than I know I can be. My quitting isnt only about weight either, it's just a problematic area of my life that I believe is closely related to my drinking...I guess this is me ranting and trying to not think about how fat I'm going to be tomorr