Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > New to Addiction and Recovery? > Newcomers to Recovery
Reload this Page >

Does one have to fail at moderation before succeeding at abstinence?

Notices

Old 09-08-2013, 12:39 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hey guys. This question has been bothering me since I quit 14 days ago. If you've read any of my other posts, you know this is my first attempt at abstinence and I've never TRULY tried to moderate. Sure, there were the cries of "I'm never drinking again!" After a binge, but I never reeeeally meant it. I can and do moderate when I want to, but there are those times I dont want to and I will overdo it. All I know is I went overboard 2 Sundays ago and I thought "this has to stop" for the first time ever. (Well, ok,full disclosure-Id thought that before upon waking but it was all forgotten within an hour and the first cup of coffee.) Anyway, this was different and I found SR that same day. Lurked for a few days then joined.
Since then though I have this nagging feeling. I mean, I've never really attempted moderation before so how do I know I can't do it? I am committed to at minimum 40 days. Why'd I pick that number? Well, I originally thought 30 days but then read many people struggle at the 30, 60, and 90 day mark so I thought I'd go an extra 10 to be safe. If I see a huge improvement in my fitness goals, energy, joy, etc, I might just continue on this path. But, I know I'm still not at that forever, never ever again point.
So, that was the long way of saying it.

Short version: does one have to fail at moderation before succeeding at abstinence?

Thank you for your thoughts
Old 09-08-2013, 12:48 PM
  # 2 (permalink)