Notices

I'm not afraid...

Old 09-06-2013, 10:57 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm not afraid...

For the first time ever, I'm not afraid to not have a drink. I'm on Day 4.

I'm not in a pink cloud. If I had to classify it, I would say I feel pretty calm. I'm lucky enough I didn't have any severe withdrawals this time from trying to stop. One time I had a seizure while still drunk, so I was worried about this time. But I've been tapering for a few months, trying to grab some sober days and taking it easy on myself. I'm lucky enough to not be working right now so I can rest and hydrate properly and not worry about having to drive or any other anxiety producing actions. I've been eating like crazy and sleeping as much as I want, even if I can't sleep til 3 am and I sleep late. I have some lorazepam if necessary.

I've had a little trouble sleeping. That was always a huge excuse for me to continue drinking. It was preposterous for me to think of going to bed without passing out drunk. I used to wonder how normal people went to bed sober. I've been reading a lot at night and Netflix has been a good distraction as well.

For some reason, this time I am just not interested in the old excuses I used to tell myself.

I'm starting to see my drinking behaviors outside of myself and they are not worthy of the way I want to continue my life. I also think of the internal physical damage I've done and I have no interest in continuing that path. I worry all the time about a condition I have, Crohn's disease, and how it's so unfair I have this, bla bla bla. When in reality I haven't even respected my body enough to tenderly care for it with one chronic condition...I just added alcohol for years, worsening everything. It's time to give myself a fighting chance.

I haven't had any cravings yet. I spend every morning and every night on SR educating myself and finding support through everyone's experience.