Notices

Nicotine patch nightmares

Old 09-03-2013, 06:04 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Nicotine patch nightmares

Hi, I'm new here, and used the patch the other night, well, what a trip I was on. My dream:
We had company and one of the people was a preacher, my husband invited him to stay overnite, and he was in our bed with us! He kept rising up every now and then to do his sermon, I was getting really irritated. When I woke, I actually looked over to see if he was there, then I had to go to bathroom, felt dizzy, started sweating heavily, and had dry heaves! Crawled back into bed pulled off the patch, turned on the A/C and later went back to sleep. WOW
Old 09-03-2013, 06:09 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

I have no experience with the patch. I'd talk to your doctor about it if it happens again.
Old 09-03-2013, 06:38 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I am a fan of the patch (used it off and on for like 3 years now..lol). But I don't SLEEP with it on. I pull it off and bedtime. I didn't get up and smoke in the middle of night or well, when sleeping..so no need for the overnight nicotine ; )
Old 09-03-2013, 06:57 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Yup... I've had crazy dreams on the patch! If I take it off by 8 pm I have no issues.
Old 10-04-2016, 05:35 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

I just signed up since I am recovering from drugs and alcohol. I recently tried to commit suicide and was diagnosed with bipolar disorder manic. I was a smoker. It I started using the patch/gum while I was hospitalized and just kept using them. Yes I'm cigarette free but I have the worst nightmares. I just woke up from one and came across this site. I dreamt I killed someone. It was so graphic it honestly still has me shaken up. I'm not sure if it's my medicine or the patches.
Karina.
Old 10-04-2016, 05:42 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  

I think it says on the box that if you experience bad dreams to remove at night. I used them to quit and I took mine off by 9 or so at night and had no problems with bad dreams.