Notices

Successful and I love to try and counteract...

Old 09-01-2013, 04:58 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Successful and I love to try and counteract...

I am a successful business owner. I have friends. I am healthy. I work out. I have a GF and we get along like we're the same person... (positive)...

Yet, I love to get wasted. Nothing seems to be more fun than drinking as much beer as I can, smoking pot and eventually taking much more of my ritalin than I should. I have learned to NOT drink so much that I get a killer hangover.

I wasn't abused. My parents divorced when I was young, yet I don't believe this bothers me. I have never experienced any major losses. My high-school and college years were not traumatic in the slightest.

What the h*ll is my problem? Why can't I leave myself alone? If I think that partying by myself is fun, then how can I retrain my brain to leave myself alone?
Old 09-01-2013, 05:11 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

You can learn to stop drinking, smoking pot and abusing Ritalin. But, I think that stopping those things would not be enough.

I found, as many do, that there are underlying issues that need to be dealt with. You may not even be aware of the issues at this point because you are self-medicating. Once you stop the drugs and alcohol, the issues that are causing you to self-medicate might become visible to you. In my opinion, there is a reason that you are doing what you're doing.

I hope you
Old 09-01-2013, 05:40 AM
  # 3 (permalink)