Dry Drunk Sister/Roommate

Old 08-19-2013, 04:57 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Dry Drunk Sister/Roommate

I moved in with my sister about six months ago. My own life had gotten messy: laid off from my career and my long term relationship imploded. I was living in a a major city and having no luck in the job market and starting to panic as months went by with no progress and unemployment starting to run out. My sister invited me to move in with her while I job searched in her city. The economy is further along here and it was a less expensive cost of living though still expensive. I agreed that I would move in but only until I found a job and could afford a place of my own. We worked out a deal where I would contribute a certain amount of money per month to her mortgage and utilities.

My sister has had 10 years of sobriety. I have had no direct experience of her has an using alcoholic. There is a large age gap between us so by the time she was out of the house and began down the path towards her drinking problem, she was already in college and I was in 5th grade. My parents did their best to shield me from her behavior and she was not allowed to visit nor have contact with me or them until she got sober. When she got to her amends step, my parents slowly allowed her back around the family and it took several years until they felt like they could trust her enough for her to come home for the holidays. By that time, I was no longer a little kid and we never really got close.

I don't have an overly close relationship with her now, as the result of all this. One of the reasons she stated she wanted me to come live out here and temporarily with her was so we could build a relationship as adults. Since my memories of her as an alcoholic are few, I didn't have the same amount of baggage that other members of my family carry about her. Mostly, she was just absent for most of my life. Needless to say, I feel like I've made a huge mistake.