Feel alone in an alcoholic family

Old 08-16-2013, 04:42 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Feel alone in an alcoholic family

Hello...I am new to this so please bear with me!

The majority of my family are alcoholics or cannot handle their drink and I have witnessed this most of my life causing me to have anxiety. My brother passed away 4 years ago as he could not live without alcohol after he had quit (I am guessing this was made worse living with my sister who is an alcoholic woth 7 children), he ended up commiting suicide when I was 16. This then led to my mum passing away 2 months later, a part of me died when my mum did as she was the only person who didn't depend on the drink and obviously she was my mother!

I was then told to get out of my family home so my sisters could sell it asap so I was left living with my sister (7 kids). It was awful, he husband hit her...she tried killing him, my nieces and nephews were doing drugs around the house...

To cut a long story short, the only person keeping my sanity was my partner whom I have been with now for 6 years. We both have our own home now and I have cut ties with the sisters as they are always abusive, selfish and drunk. My life is so much better now and calmer but I always feel that yearning to have that normal family life... I am expecting my first child and I'm finding it hard to cope with having no-one have advice from or to talk about it with. My partners family are lovely and very supportive but I don't feel it's the same... this ultimately something I would have loved to share with my mum. My sister called me one night after I sent her the picture of my first scan, she was off her face of course and just made my special moment feel...well no special at all... when I told her what the sonographer said about the baby she slurred ' haa they say that to everyone love...trust me...' after this I havent really spoken to her.