Notices

Here we go...

Old 08-15-2013, 11:45 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
mav
just keep swimming

Here we go...

Hi everyone. I've been reading the forum anonymously for a while now and finally plucked up the courage to register.

I've been abusing alcohol for around 15 years. I'm now in my early thirties. The early years were fairly normal... uni, drinking out with mates, and it just slowly but surely grew more and more. I've never been a binge drinker, more of a habitual drinker. I could count on one hand the number of days in the last 4 years that I haven't had a drink. But it's never "been a problem" - I'm very highly educated, have a great job, a lovely house and a beautiful wife. I guess I'm a functional alcoholic.

I've known I'm an alcoholic for about the past 2 years and have done everything to block that from my mind. I keep setting my quit dates - at the end of the Summer, when you finish that project, etc. etc. The problem is, they just keep going further and further ahead.

I've been trying to moderate for about the last 6 months. It works for a day or so, until I get to the "allowed" drink - that "one" glass of wine. That one invariably turns in to a bottle or more and I'm back where I started.

I hate the fog. The lack of sleep. I've never done anything truly awful but plenty of stupid things which will be with me for the rest of my life.

I managed to abstain on Monday of this week. That was fairly OK. Tuesday was much, much harder, but I stayed dry. Last night was OK. Have had the night sweats and have been quite irritable. Major restless leg syndrome.