Notices

Planning freedom Friday

Old 08-13-2013, 02:33 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Planning freedom Friday

Hi, I have been abusing alcohol for over 5 years and its now have a really negative effect on the things that matter the most - my family life. I hate what alcohol is doing to my life but love the relaxation that it gives me. I drink every night and have put on over 2 stone in weight and feel awful. I worry about the negative role model I am creating for my young children & my husband is on the verge of leaving me. Despite all this I worry about how I will relax, cope & enjoy life without alcohol. I wonder if I will enjoy nights with my friends or husband without it. Has anybody felt this and come out of he other side better off?
Old 08-13-2013, 02:44 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR

I can relate to your post and am a similar age with a young child. Now sober, I see alcohol didn't make me relax,cope or enjoy life at all.Quite the opposite. I was tense all day, unable to cope with things and pretty darn miserable. I thought alcohol helped me relax but it was an illusion/con.

I've been sober 8 months and my life is truly better than I imagined it could be. I don't want to go out drinking with friends,it seems pretty boring now.I can go to functions etc but prefer to do new sober hobbies. I feel physically and mentally so much stronger(though still eating too much ice cream )

If you feel so awful you're probably not really enjoying life at all really? Quitting really can improve your life. SR is a great place for support and strength

Another Lancashire girl here too though live away now
Old 08-13-2013, 03:01 PM
  # 3 (permalink)