Notices

Anhedonia, mood swings, self-hatred

Old 08-13-2013, 08:21 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Anhedonia, mood swings, self-hatred

So I have been sober almost a week on umpteenth attempt at sobriety. I am in my second year of graduate study and I hate, I feel like no one in my program is nice or good, they all seem calculating and insecure, so I tend to stay away from them. When I left for school I was living with a girl I really loved, we had been together for years, and I was motivated to improve my self and begin a career as a teacher because I believed in my delusional, depressed brain that she loved me and we would get married one day. Of course, being an alcoholic I didn't see at the time how destructive I was and how miserable I made her. So today I leave her alone, and as long as I don't drink I don't try to call her and listen to her voice. But I do hope she finds someone that will be nice to her and treat her well, she is a great person and deserves it. Also her parents never liked me and considered me white trash because I come from a poor family, like most people on the planet.

So school started yesterday and I felt good, but now I am worried I will not be able to finish because I do not care, and I feel like I have to think and worry about my sobriety so much that I cannot concentrate on anything else. I also don't know what to do for a career, and I don't know what to do when I leave the program I am in. I feel like I should never have been admitted, and that the school used me for financial reasons my first year, because I had to pay money. So I made a huge mistake by borrowing more money and going deeper into debt, which contributed to my drinking, and then my girlfriend quit calling me, and so on.