Notices

Fist time speaking tonight!

Old 08-02-2013, 02:39 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Fist time speaking tonight!

I am speaking at an AA meeting in a women's inpatient rehab tonight. It is my first time and I am pretty nervous! But also excited! My friend asked me to do it mid-week so I am glad I have not had a lot of time to think about it lol I believe my higher power worked through her because as most of you know I have been struggling these past few weeks. Her asking me to speak woke me up from my funk. I can still be helpful. I am still sober. With the latter two, I am capable of carrying the message. Wish me luck and say a quick prayer if you pray that I may carry the message well to someone who really needs it If anything, this will help me a lot, so guess it's a win win
Old 08-02-2013, 02:53 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

You'll have a blast! I remember my first time speaking at a meeting. My sponsor asked me a week before the meeting (so I got to be nervous for a week). I decided that I was amongst people who had been where I'd been, and the nervousness just disappeared. It was a great experience and I hope to do it again soon.
Old 08-02-2013, 03:00 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
We Do Recover

Smile

I think it's great that you are doing this. You will connect with the women there. At least one person there (if not more) will be able to relate to what you share tonight.

I remember many years ago when I told my story at a women detox facility. I only had a couple months sober and was nervous about it. My sponsor told me I would be ok and that the women there would appreciate what I had to share. (This place was a 14 day detox so the women there had anywhere from 1 to 14 days sober.) Sponsor said there wouldn't be any pressure plus they were all women so that made me feel a little more comfortable. Everything went well. Once I started sharing the fear disappeared. I did say a prayer before the meeting started. It definitely helped.