Notices

I'm new and just need support

Old 07-30-2013, 05:36 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy I'm new and just need support

I've been abusing every type of hydrocodone for about 5 yrs now. Anywhere from 30-50 pills a day. Amazingly I quit 6 days ago and this is really my first coherent day since. Detox was the worst 3 days of my life. I've been feeling marginallybetter every day . But I don't know what is worse, the permanent fog in my head, the horrible body pain, or the anxiety? Not to mention, everything I do I used to do high, so it's a horrible reminder every second. It's funny, I used to think I was a better person when using, but just in these 6 crappy days I realize my life is already better. I'm actually attentive to the emotions and feelings of those around me ( my 8 yr old son who loves me more than anything and my girlfriend of 7 yrs) <------ no clue that I was ever a user. I know I'll make it through this because I love them too much to relapse. But holy crap is it hard!!!!! Moral of the story: I quit; it is soooooooo hard every second of the day; I feel great about the new me; can't wait for the day I wake up and the fog has cleared, the pain is gone, and I have little to no anxiety. Sorry if this is all mashed up. So many things to say. Thanks if you read and/or respond to this.
Old 07-30-2013, 05:50 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Community Greeter

No, it's not mashed up. Welcome to SR abetterme! You sound determined to do this & I think it'll really help you to be here. The support & encouragement is amazing. Of course you'll feel strange for awhile - but you are beginning to heal. Be patient and kind to yourself - you're doing great.
Old 07-30-2013, 06:05 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

to the family! You'll find lots of support here.
Old 07-30-2013, 06:10 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Abetterme2013,