Notices

6 Months Ago Today :)

Old 07-29-2013, 10:01 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

6 Months Ago Today :)

It was 6 months ago today that I took my very last drink of alcohol. While I'm still a newbie to sobriety, this six months has provided a fierce self-confidence and strength that I wasn't originally sure that I'd be able to reach. It's surreal, feeling sort of like slowly waking up from comatose a state of being.

Last week I had to go downtown for a big job interview. I felt a bit uneasy (to be expected) as I've been hibernating in my own little world for quite awhile now,... I felt very "exposed." As I left the interview and walked down the busy street, I felt incredibly uneasy and on the verge of tears, knowing that I probably didn't get it, ...funds are getting low, and I've been facing this alone. I just wanted to rush home and crawl back into bed. The thoughts of a drink passed through my mind, but my newfound clarity was now strong enough to dismiss it and handle the fear and insecurity with a clear minded grace and dignity. Deep breaths, calling a friend, reclaiming hope, knowing everything will work out fine...reclaiming my future. That's what sobriety is bringing me.

Here's some of the beauty that I've discovered so far in my sobriety:

Conquering Solitude - I'm learning to embrace solitude. It's okay, I don't need to escape being alone. A drink doesn't change anything, as it just drugged me into sleep and postponed the inevitable.

Realizing Vices - My eyes are open to all of the vices that I've used as escapism that I've sought out to alleviate emotional pain. I don't need alcohol, to jump into any relationship, drama, or constant social stimulation to escape my own emotions. I'm fully equipped and capable of dealing with it on my own.