Addicts attending Nar-Anon

Old 07-29-2013, 09:52 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Addicts attending Nar-Anon

I am somewhat new to Nar-Anon and Sober Recovery, so protocol is still a little mysterious for me. My r(?)abf would like to attend a Nar-Anon meeting with me. There is only one meeting a week in our area, and I have been attending for about a month now. He will be on suboxone (sp?) when he attends, but is very fresh from active heroin using. He would like to attend to learn how to better help separate himself from his little brother, who is an addict and also his dealer. He would also like to "understand my side of recovery." My question is - is this appropriate? I do not want to walk into that room with him and find out after the fact that attending a meeting with your addict - regardless of the fact that he qualifies as a member as well- is a big no-no. Thanks in advance!
Old 07-29-2013, 11:25 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
●▬๑۩۩๑▬●

IMO, he's too raw to hear what may be shared, it may be awkward for the Anons, and it may keep you from sharing honestly. Though I love the fact that he want's to work a program from this side, it would probably be more beneficial to work it from the addict side first.
Old 07-29-2013, 11:57 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

IMHO, almost every addict qualifies to be a member of Nar-Anon. The requirements for membership is that you have a friend or loved one affected by the disease of addiction. That's it. I would say that most addicts have friends who are addicts and, therefore, meet those requirements.

However, with that said, when I was very fresh in Nar-Anon, it would have made me very uncomfortable if my son wanted to attend with me. I agree with Cynical that it would have made it difficult for me to share openly. It would not have made me feel uncomfortable if someone else's addicted loved one was there.....just my own.