Can it ever really work?

Old 07-29-2013, 06:54 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Can it ever really work?

My ABF (I believe that is the correct acronym - I'm still learning) has been in detox for not even 24 hours. I dropped him off yesterday afternoon with a bag full of belongings, the rest of which are still in our apartment. I've mentioned before that I'm going to have to give up said apartment. I plan on calling the landlord this week to talk to her about ending the lease - and then I have 30 days. Anyway, when I left ABF yesterday, he still had his house keys. He said that once he gets through his 5 or 6 days of detox, he is going to go to an aftercare program, but doesn't know if it will start immediately and kept the keys just in case he needed to come home and I didn't have the balls to take them from him. I was so sad an emotional. I haven't hit the anger yet. Was this a terribly bad idea? If he is home in between these 2 stages of his recovery is it going to be horrible?

The other part of my question - the one I really feel I need some input on... well, my family, especially my mother, who is very involved in my life and who watches our son for 6 hours every day while I work, is 100% against me having anything to do with ABF ever again. She told me that if I ever let him back into my life that my family will never support me again. I've thought of friends who have had relationships with addicts in the past and none of those have ever worked out. I just wonder - is it even possible that we can have a relationship again? Can this ever really work? Does it ever work? I need to know from people who have been through it. Please. And if it does work - am I going to ruin my relationship with my family because of it?