Notices

Just starting to cut at age 45?

Old 07-18-2013, 02:36 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Shape-Shifting Super-Hero

Just starting to cut at age 45?

So I have not had a drink in a week, but the other night, when it was so hot, and I felt so weak and delirious, I took my Japanese Chef's knife, and sharpened it on a whetstone for a good five minutes, and then made three small parallel cuts on my lower leg, almost like some kind of Native American war stripes, and I felt like I was in some numb dreamstate.

I have never done anything like this before, but yet, it felt like some sudden compulsion. There was no intent to die, just to make these marks, almost like a tatoo, and see the blood come out. Let the life-force come out, to see that it was still there.

I feel at points an almost total unreality and lack of the ability to influence what happens to me, anymore; perhaps this is some kind of control.

Similarly, I have had the idea to just stop eating. Like a hunger strike. Grow thinner and thinner. Save money, stop eating.

I have quit drinking many times before, and yet, have never had these feelings. Perhaps it is my age, my lack of money, my ruined credit, my lack of owning a house, my broke-down-car, my falling wages as prices rise. A sense of things washing away, and me, along with them. A lack of hope there are enough years to turn things around; a tremendous fear of death, of old age.

So that when I look at these three stripes I made, I feel more alive again, like I am part of some tribe, something beyond this mundane world.

I'm sorry if this is the wrong place to post this, but I feel compelled to do this more...again, just enough to make a mark, to see the blood come out. Come out to show me it is there.
Old 07-18-2013, 02:40 PM
  # 2 (permalink)