Moved out

Old 06-22-2013, 04:00 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Moved out

Like many of you I have been married 27 years with 2 adult kids 22 and 26.Im the Husband I've been attending Alanon for 12 years.My wife has been relapsing for years and not just slips but heavy prescription usage of all sorts either she is sober and acts out in deep silence and extreme resentment or using and acts out the same.I attend 3 meetings a week and I moved out.its the 1st time I have done this so the hair on my head was standing and I had goosebumps of joy and still do.I have been gone for a month I asked her only to text me and not to call due to the stressful PTSD feelings from the lying and not taking responsibility either way its always my fault and its like talking to a scripted parrot.My feelings have are no where in the Alanon book does it have an exit plan and I feel it should?.I'm not angry but feel relieved .I can tell you its been a battle and the moment I left she stopped using and got a sponsor and her texts are in my face such as

I'm a sober women and my sponsor says I can't make any decisions till I finish my step work I'm not sure what decisions need to be made But I already left!!!!
Old 06-22-2013, 07:09 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Ovid... you know it is early days in her "sobriety" (embryonic really) so take those texts with a grain of salt... Good for you that you are taking care of you! I could learn a lot from that kind of courage. :o)
Old 06-22-2013, 07:17 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Sober since 10th April 2012

Hi Ovid, It's so good to hear you have 'goosebumps of joy'. I understand what you said about passive aggressive silences that just suck the life out of you. If your wife is going to get past that way of dealing with a relationship, it's IMO going to take a lot of time and hard work, so don't be in a rush to move back. But I have a feeling you won't be.
Exit plan? Make up your own.
Old 06-22-2013, 07:46 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Ovid,