Notices

Day 2, new, and scared

Old 06-15-2013, 04:43 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Sober Today

Day 2, new, and scared

I've been reading and figured I'd post my own thread.

I've been drinking for decades (since 15 years old) in all sorts of stages (parties, clubs, socially), but the past two years I've been drinking daily at home all day, starting in the morning usually, as a way to cope with stress, anxiety, boredom, insecurity, work, etc.

It's to the point where I plan every single thing I do around drinking. I get sloppy drunk, I feel like garbage, I can't be a good wife or mother, and my drinking has caused a lot of problems. I realized that nothing good has ever come from me drinking, while almost everything bad in my life has been a result of alcohol.

So here I am, on day two of sobriety and worried about the weekend. We always go out to eat (to drink, really), and am worried that my AV will win this weekend, but I HAVE to get sober for my health and my kids. If I could just remember that when my AV tells me it's ok if I only drink a 6-pack because at least it's not a 12-pack...

Anyway, this site has been a big help and I will be around a lot - big thank you to everyone who posts here.
Old 06-15-2013, 04:48 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Congrats on day two!

Can you plan to go somewhere else? Could you just pick up some chicken and soft drinks/tea and head to a local park. Have a picnic dinner.

Go to a movie and just have some popcorn and soda.

There are lots of other things and places you can go that does not involve drinking alcohol.

If you husband is a drinker too can you share with him that you are having a rough time and you need to go someplace that does not have alcohol around at least until you feel stronger.
Old 06-15-2013, 04:50 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Sober Today