Leaving the addict finally...

Old 06-01-2013, 10:40 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Leaving the addict finally...

I have been a part of this site for a little over two months (though reading them has helped me ENORMOUSLY, so thank you all), but tonight I am ready....My ex crack addict boyfriend broke up with me last night (whilst on crack) for the millionth time, but last night something inside me clicked, I had no interest in repairing the relationship or trying anymore...Too much damage has been done to me as a person by him, physical abuse as well as mental, all the lies, the manipulations, the missing money and time, I work in the health care field and work in nursing so I am not oblivious to addicts and their behavior, I am a very quiet person in reality and spend my days helping others but have finally decided
it's time to think about ME for once and I need to start by realizing I am the mistress to crack cocaine in this relationship and no matter what I do I cannot help this person, that is their own choice. A little information about me, I am 23 and my ex is 30 (you would think he would know better, but I know drugs don't care about age)...

Thank you for reading
Old 06-01-2013, 10:50 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I remember the night that it suddenly "clicked" for me. It was all just so obvious all of a sudden! It was a little shocking how the switch just flipped. I went no contact at that point too.
Good for you for putting yourself first. Take care of yourself and continue to work on you!
Old 06-02-2013, 06:18 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Good for you for taking care of you!

gentle hugs
ke
Old 06-02-2013, 06:28 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Welcome, Shiek.

Hoping for continued courage and strength for you, that you'll be safe and have a good support system.
Old 06-02-2013, 07:03 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Getting there!!