words of wisdom for wife of opiate addict?

Old 05-26-2013, 07:03 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

words of wisdom for wife of opiate addict?

Well, hello- This is my first time here and ever posting in a forum. I am here because my husband has recently opened up to me about his current addiction to heroin. He has been using drugs since he was 13 and heroin since he was 18-he is now 26. When we first got together five years ago he had told me that he was a recovering heroin addict and had put together a year and a half. I had been oblivious to the fact that he would still really struggle with this, and after four years of being together I found out through someone else that he was heavily into opiates again. I confronted him and he said he needed my support-I stayed and things kind of went back to "normal"- he did not get professional help-we did actually move to another state during the time and we thought that would be a good step- but apparently it found him there. Basically since I found out a year ago- he has been acting like he was sober- and keeping the truth from me. We have an almost four year old little girl together.

Anyway- He is a functioning addict. He goes to work every day and he manages out finances. After getting a significant amount of a tax return and selling our van for a few thousand dollars I was asking him about what kind of money we currently have. I was surprised to find out we didn't have any of the money we just had a month ago. I asked him then, if he had been using the money for drugs and he came clean. He said he has been wanting to tell me about it, and has been hoping I would ask him about it because he didn't know how to bring it up. He told me that he wanted me to manage the finances and that he wanted to get some professional help and suboxone treatment- and that he wanted me to help manage the suboxone.