Notices

What do I tell my employer????

Old 05-16-2013, 10:51 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question What do I tell my employer????

Addicted to opiates. Planning on going to rehab tomorrow, 05-17-2013. I am a chemical engineer who has a great job but I do not trust my boss or company at all. I am scared and undecided on what to tell my employer about me fixing to take off 2-3 weeks for in-patient treatment. Right now I am thinking of applying for Family Medical Leave since then I do not need to explain the reason why to my employer. I am pretty scared and anxious today to say the least. I have made an appointment to show up at the rehab in Houston tomorrow at 10:00 AM. I'm on vacation this week and my boss is going to freak out when he hears I am not showing up for work on Monday. Any advice on what and how much you would tell an employer in my situation? The good news is I am going to the #2 best rated rehab in the country.

Old 05-16-2013, 11:04 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

FMLA would probably be the best route if you don't want to disclose why you'll be gone.

Best of luck and congratulations on the decision, get well and try to learn as much as you can about what to do AFTER you get out to stay clean.
Old 05-16-2013, 11:09 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Time Lord

Originally Posted by ScottFromWI View Post
FMLA would probably be the best route if you don't want to disclose why you'll be gone.

Best of luck and congratulations on the decision, get well and try to learn as much as you can about what to do AFTER you get out to stay clean.
I agree with Scott here. Seems like your best bet. Good luck with your recovery!
Old 05-16-2013, 11:11 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Talk to HR about fmla... It's all confidential
Old 05-16-2013, 12:07 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

I agree with everyone. Talk with HR, and see what can be done.
Old 05-17-2013, 12:31 AM
  # 6 (permalink)