Notices

betrayed

Old 04-28-2013, 01:50 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

betrayed

Hi,
I'm new at this so bear with me. I'm so consumed with so much pain, so many thoughts reverberating through my brain. My story is not unique. I chose to love an alcoholic. I chose to stand by him as his liver failed and he nearly died. I chose to sleep by his bedside and wash his soiled underwear because of his alcoholism. I chose to visit the hospital day after day after day and then the nursing home after that. I chose to pick him up on weekends and take him to my home. I chose to encourage and love and dote on him as he professed he would never take another drink again. I chose to stand by him through everything and he chose to seek out another woman.
Old 04-28-2013, 02:03 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Community Greeter

Welcome to SR Bentnotbroken. We're very happy to have you here.

I'm so sorry for the pain you're experiencing - I hope it helps to know you aren't alone. For me, coming here to share my feelings helped so much.
Old 04-28-2013, 02:12 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome Bentnotbroken. Its hard to understand why others can be so hurtful but alcohol and addictions make people so selfish. I hope you find peace and happiness in your future. There is lots of support here :-)
Old 04-28-2013, 02:19 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Thank you. I can't believe I'm in this place. Not Sober Recovery, but this place in my life. He nearly died three years ago - that's when I first discovered SR. He was given a 5% chance to live after suffering horrible ascites, a major brain bleed after falling, he was anorexic, on a walker, he is now diabetic with neuropathy.... You name it. It is incomprehensible that he would ever drink again. But, the clincher is that this man, who I stood by through all of this sought out another woman. Wow! Thank God I discovered it or I would still be supporting this piece of work.
Old 04-28-2013, 02:44 PM
  # 5 (permalink)