Notices

18 Days and Counting!

Old 04-28-2013, 05:47 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

18 Days and Counting!

Hello folks, this is my first post to your forum so here goes. 18 days ago, I quit drinking for about the 40th time in my life. I am a functional alcoholic who used to drink (after work) about 1 pint of gin on week days and about a fifth on the weekends. I have been doing this for the last 20 years. I could not sleep more than 4-5 hours per night. That is on a good night without sleep anxiety. My hands would shake all day at work, and I would be irritable when I came home until I had my first "shot" (about 4 ounces).
This time, for some reason, quitting has been much easier. I had the withdrawals, night sweats, inability to sleep for only about 5 days this time around. This is the first time I have ever quit that I did not want to drink at all. For some reason, I am drawn to energy drinks, a strange alternative, I know. I figure staying sober will save me about $400.00 a month. I am sorry to ramble on. I am just pumped to be so motivated after quitting this long.
Old 04-28-2013, 06:26 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
That bell or bike person

Bestwishes, M
Old 04-28-2013, 06:34 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Congratulations and well done!
Old 04-28-2013, 06:35 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Nice job FishHawk, and welcome.

Your story sounds all too familiar. I'm certainly no expert, but I think we "high functioning alcoholics" have an easier time quitting drinking, but run into more difficulty maintaining sobriety. Particularly when many of us (myself included) are in corporate environments that are utterly immersed in a drinking culture. It's simply not an option to say, "I'm going to avoid that environment", much in the way others can say, "I'm not going to go into that bar".

Note to all readers: I'm not trying to put one group on any pedestal over another here. Please don't misconstrue my words for anything other than simple reflections based entirely on my own observations.