Notices

What would you have done?

Old 04-26-2013, 04:18 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Zee

What would you have done?

A friend of a friend came round our house tonight very drunk... dt's and shaking and all that... we of course invited him in, let him tell us his troubles (he lost a close friend last week) we don't know him that well... so we couldn't just ship him to A&E because he was just drunk, he would be just sitting in waiting room for hours with all the other drunks. We spent an hour with him and he went on his way... I drove to the shop to get a beer and we put it in his pocket so he may not have a seizure tomorrow... I just didn't know what the right thing to do was... maybe he will just drink it tonight, I don't know. As a newbie myself, I didn't know how to deal with this. Would this be enabling of just maybe saving him (giving him a beer)...
Old 04-26-2013, 04:25 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Behold the power of NO

If he was shaking and getting the DTs, you absolutely did the right thing. Severe alcohol withdrawal without medical supervision can be deadly.
If you are in the US, call 211 next time and they should give you directions to the detox center.
Just for boundaries purpose, if it happens again, you need to let him know clearly that it is not acceptable to stop at your house drunk when he is too broke to afford booze. Obviously he needs to maintain and is in a bad way, time for him to seek help.
Old 04-26-2013, 04:36 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Zee

We are in the UK... he is from Lithuania (alcoholism is rife there)... just didn't know what to do, except put a beer in his pocket and send him off home... There is nothing I can do for him except hope he has found his way home (500 metres), not get run over (doubtful, it's quite quiet here) I just hoped I wasn't enabling him to drink more...

I guess if I wasn't a member of SR, I would just pass him off as another pi$$ head, because I didn't know any better... glad I'm here now thank you
Old 04-26-2013, 05:31 PM