Really? How can that be?

Old 04-25-2013, 08:22 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Co-dependant Control Freak

Really? How can that be?

I often wonder if I really am damaged/affected by my alcoholic mother and other family members or if it is just an excuse, or if it was all that OTHER crap that did the damage. How could I be THAT affected when she didnt even raise me? A basic background...

My mother was an alcoholic, she is now passed, 15yrs ago at the age of 46 she died of colon cancer. She didnt raise my sister and I. Dad and Mom divorced when we were 4/5 and Dad got custody because of Mom's drug and alcohol problems. We did go up to visit, though not frequently. I have few memories, and the ones I do, are not great.

We flew up to visit during summer break for a couple weeks usually, I think. Spring and Christmas breaks also. But that all ended while I was still in elementary school, I would say around 9 or 10 years old maybe. Then I didnt see her again until I graduated high school. So how much damage could be done?

My memories are mostly of being taken to bars, mom leaving us alone a lot, coming home late, drunk, with men we didnt know. She never hurt us physically, she was a happy drunk. We would drive somewhere and she would stop for "one" beer and not come back to the car for hours. So yes, some ugly stuff.

Then Dad remarried when I was 9. Stepmother and dad dont drink. SM was not only mean but abusive (to me, not sister) physically and emotionally. To this day even. We were never allowed to discuss it, any time there was a family problem the rule was it was hushed up and not talked about. If we dont talk about it, it didnt happen. I wrote my dad an 8 page letter about it when I was 20 and he never responded. This might be disfunctional, but not alcohol related.