Emotionally EXHAUSTED by AH - long....

Old 05-09-2004, 07:35 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Emotionally EXHAUSTED by AH - long....

Okay - detach, detach, detach. Fine. So what do I do when I'm studying for a final and he won't quit???? Follows me around the house, starts crying, gripes at me for not being a GREAT dinner conversationalist. This from the man who was literally passed out on the dining room floor most of the afternoon. The only reason I knew this was I came inside from studying to get a glass of water and he was laying on the floor - I thought he was dead!

I'm just beat from all of this. I finally told him point-blank last night that it's not him I hate, it's his drinking - and the only person who hates him is HIM! God help me, but I'm exhausted from this nonstop drama. I ignore it, I leave the house, I don't react to it, but he WON'T LET UP ON ME!!! He'll sit on the stairs watching me clean up after dinner, he'll sigh, he'll start to cry, he'll say things that are almost pathetically child-like in response to just about anything I say -
ME: "I don't think I can take much more of your alcohol abuse."
HIM: "So you hate me."
ME: "No, I did not say I hate you, you said it."
HIM: "Oh."

And round-and-round-and-round it goes until I finally just tell him to f**k off and put on a diaper and play being a whining little baby girl - but for heaven's sake get out of my space.

ME: "I need to use the basement tonight so I can get online to use the computer to study for my final."
HIM: "So you don't want to sleep with me as usual."
ME" "This isn't about where I'm sleeping. I'm asking if I can use the basement because I know you prefer to watch t.v. down there and I would like to study down there so it won't be an imposition."
HIM:"Thanks for asking me. I'll watch upstairs."