Notices

Powerless but manageable?

Old 04-08-2013, 01:26 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Powerless but manageable?

I have been doing this for about 9-10 months and have come to the conclusion that I have no power over using but life is still pretty good. I certainly have a drinking problem but cocaine definitely greased the wheels. I put together 8 good months and felt pretty good for most of it but hit the wall at step 5 which was at 7 months.

I relapsed in and out for the past 30 days. Except for feeling lousy and guilty the day after, the consequences have been pretty small. I have always had a great relationship with my kids, pretty good marriage a good carrer and money in the bank.

Not sure if powerless can make me surrender but in my heart I would like to but just can't make the mind go there.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Old 04-08-2013, 01:44 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Are you doing AA or NA ??

All the best.

Bob R
Old 04-08-2013, 01:45 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate

Originally Posted by mds1212 View Post
Except for feeling lousy and guilty the day after, the consequences have been pretty small....Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Big consequences are often too late. I don't advice waiting for one to be the spur you need to quit. Everything is good now. But at some point it wasn't, and you quit. Drink and you will likely end up right where you were before.
Old 04-08-2013, 02:03 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I haven’t been to AA, thus I haven’t worked the steps but I’m sure someone who has AA experience will be able to provide you with some insight. I think many people entertain the idea of returning to moderated drinking at some time during recovery. The following link is a good read as to others experience with moderation and insight to the “kindling effect” of multiple relapses and withdrawals - *http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...lly-again.html.