Notices

I'm so tired of it

Old 04-08-2013, 12:02 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm so tired of it

Hello all, I am new to publicly talking about my drinking problem so I don't quite know what to say. I may as well be honest about it here, so here it goes.

I started drinking in 2005 after I returned from Afghanistan(army) and had my whole life dumped upside down trapping me in a life I wanted desperately to get away from. Fast forward to 2012, I was so tired of the drinking, depression and despair I went to see a psychologist at the VA. It was this lady that listened to me and that is when we discovered that I have cyclothalmia(rapid cycling bipolar). We both hoped that once on medication that my desire to drink would go away. For awhile it did, but I am back at drinking daily and can easily finish( I make it last 3 days not less) a 100 proof fifth of vodka in 3 days, and it just makes me so mad that I am .... here(an alcoholic).

I have 3 kids, a husband, my own business and I desperately want to just be content and not have the desire to drink. I don't want to keep trying to plan when I can sneak a drink, how to disguise the smell on my breath and pretend to not be buzzed or drunk in front of my family. I'm just so tired of it. I don't have the will power to quit, I need help.

It makes me feel so defeated because today I want to quit, but by this evening I will be itching for my drink and my hands will just pour one even though my brain is screaming no no no.

Sorry for the rambling post, it does feel good to not have to lie here and to just let it out, so thank you for reading it.
Old 04-08-2013, 12:15 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Sobriety is Traditional

I hope you stick around, you'll get lots of people sharing their experiences.

I had my wife take me to the ER and then was in detox for a week. Really the only symptom that put me there was that I wanted a drink. I learned a lot by living with others who are struggling with addiction.