Notices

What will it be like...

Old 03-31-2013, 04:32 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

What will it be like...

Hi, just a quick hello and bit of background for me -

I've been drinking for around 10 years, during that time I've had disastrous relationships due to excessive daily drinking. My health is suffering and it's really time I sorted things out.

I know drink is also holding me back in achieving the things I want in life.

Day 2 so far and looking forward to join the April group.
Old 03-31-2013, 04:40 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

So glad you joined us! Do check out the class of April thread (when it gets started tomorrow, that is). You'll find a lot of support and encouragement here.
Old 03-31-2013, 04:41 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Recovering ostrich

Welcome medion! What's the plan to stay quit?
Old 03-31-2013, 04:56 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Hi,

Plan is to stay busy after work and when I'm home to be distracted - video games initially, though perhaps something more physical as I feel better and get my energy back - I'd like to take up running again in the evenings.

I'd also be very interested to know people's experience of food/diet as part of recovery - both to fill some time i have being sober and to give my body the best chance to recover.

Many thanks for your kind welcomes.
Old 03-31-2013, 05:10 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Sobriety is Traditional

Hi Medion,

Welcome to SoberRecovery!

A well-balanced diet with several meals a day is a good idea if your doctor says you are in good health. A vitamin B supplement, and a lot of other things, are often recommended; check out the health and nutrition threads. There are exercise threads too!
Old 03-31-2013, 05:42 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Community Greeter

Medion - we're so glad you joined us. You now have plenty of company - we all understand what it's like when you first quit. It really helps to share with people who are going though the same thing. No one in my life could relate to what I went through.