Notices

new here

Old 03-29-2013, 07:43 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

new here

Hi all - I've been sober since 1.31.2013 and mostly enjoying it. Have to say I'm glad to have found this site, it's a great support.

I've been drinking for at least 30 years with a break of about 1 year in 2001. Had a nervous breakdown & severe depression. I used AA & a psychologist & religion -unfortunately I ended up very disheartened by churches and AA.

This time, I realized that my whole family was alcoholics and it if it hadn't already killed them, they were in the process or very bitter. the holidays put me over the edge with all the in-fighting and stress of being with them. I had a couple of blackouts & decided that was enough.

I'm single, no kids, just the 2 black kittehs. Very much a loner and have always been.

My method to stay off this time? AVRT and SR.

Nice to meet you all & seems to be such a supportive community. I'm looking forward to participating
Old 03-29-2013, 07:44 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

welcome to the forums 2blackkittehs

D
Old 03-29-2013, 07:58 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Sobriety is Traditional

There's some AVRT discussions going on here: Secular Connections - SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information
Old 03-29-2013, 09:03 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Not The Way way, Just the way

Originally Posted by 2blackkittehs View Post
Hi all - I've been sober since 1.31.2013 and mostly enjoying it. Have to say I'm glad to have found this site, it's a great support.

I've been drinking for at least 30 years with a break of about 1 year in 2001. Had a nervous breakdown & severe depression. I used AA & a psychologist & religion -unfortunately I ended up very disheartened by churches and AA.