Notices

First week

Old 03-20-2013, 07:05 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

First week

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this and this question may have already been answered countless times (and I apologise for that) BUT, what coping strategies to you use/have use in the first week of getting sober?

How did you stave off the cravings, anxiety, urges and depression.

Any help would be gratefully appreciated. In the past 7 years I have only been sober for 2 consecutive days, as the pressure just gets too much - it's so easy to just have a drink and make everything worse.
Old 03-20-2013, 10:49 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

If anyone can answer this I'd really appreciate it too.

At the moment some things I'm doing include: having the house stocked full of new, weird and exotic fruit and just gorging on that to distract myself through urges.

But that's small stuff. Anxiety and depression is much harder to deal with, and I've suffered from both for years. That end-of-the-day feeling when you're wound up so tight you can't breathe, and you're used to being able to make it go away with a bottle... that's what us newbies need help coping with.
Old 03-20-2013, 12:21 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Couldn't agree more snowbunting, ways to combat the anxiety/depression without having to resort to the bottle?

I get to my 2nd day sober and I am so agitated/frustrated I feel I have no option to calm my "brain" but to open a bottle.

I know there's the normal "go for a walk", but going for a walk for me, would probably resort in me walking to the shop, I think I'm safer locking the door of the house and riding it out.
Old 03-20-2013, 12:35 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I'm on day 3 but its much easier for me as I usually wait until the weekends to do my crazy drinking....the hard time will be after work Friday or Saturday afternoon if I make it that far...
I did fancy a drink after work tonight though. Instead I went for a long walk and treated myself to a chocolate bar.