I need to tell my story...

Old 03-19-2013, 02:01 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I need to tell my story...

I met my ex living next door. He is younger than me and being with me made me feel full of life and I didn't have to worry about anything other than being me. After a night of recklessness, I got pregnant. I didn't know then that the alcohol-fueled nights were a deeper thing in him. I drink sometimes when I hang out with my friends. I am a professional and single mother so time is very limited. Somehow, I thought he was just like me. I found out later, that he was an alcoholic. Drinking every day after work "just a couple to relax" which were not a couple..more like a couple six packs..oh and weed too. I could not for the sake of my coming daughter have him involved in our life. I still blame myself for this decision because he went into a downward spiral..alcohol and weed where exchanged for cocaine and eventually meth. He got arrested, he got stabbed and then his brother got shot. They had been out celebrating his wedding and his pregnancy. High on coke and who knows what. They started a fight, gestures where made and then the other people shot at them. His brother died in his arms on the side of the road. He went black (that's what I call it) he became mean and angry and hostile, wanting to destroy himself and everyone around it. I know all this because I still had contact with his mom and they are my neighbors. I saw it, he would see me and as the saying goes "if looks could kill.." but I still had my daughter to think about so I did not reach out to him...then one day in April, he shows up at my door. Apologizing for not being there for her birth or anything else. He wanted a chance to get to know her. I said ok. I thought to myself, he is working on making his life better and I also, selfishly, thought, I had vindicated. The pain of going through the pregnancy by myself, the insult of him telling me it wasn't his and I wanted to trap him, and the rejection wou