Old 03-18-2013, 04:41 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I've been married to my alcoholic husband for just over two years. I knew when we were dating that he drank more than I was comfortable with (as a social worker I saw signs), I confronted him and he gave me the perfect answer about never letting it become a wedge between us.
Currently, he spends each evening outside in our 2 car garage, maintaining his buzz until he is ready to come in for dinner, watch tv, and go to bed. We have a very comfortable life, bought our house, have land, a good dog, etc. He is a "functional" drinker. never lets it affect his job, money, his family, only me, only here at home. Never drives after drinking, isn't a risk taker. When he comes in he's either too happy or moody, he's hyper-critical, and can't see outside of himself to care about or really even know me. On the weekends he drinks more. He will eventually cycle around until he makes himself sick or does something stupid/hurtful and then come apologizing to me in the morning and for a week or two keep it at a minimum.
It's been about a month since the last time and I'm waiting, any weekend now it will happen again. Last time he told me he had to prove to himself that he could control it, and for two weeks didn't drink Mon-Thurs and then went through a 30 pack of beer on the weekends... there was a point when he was going through a 6 pack each night and twice that on the weekends. He doesn't get abusive, just mean, if I didn't know it was the alcohol talking I'd be a wreck. I used to tiptoe, but I got over that when I realized it was his problem not mine! He fits the descriptions and behaviors of an alcoholic and it runs strong in his family. His dad quit after getting saved, my husband already has Jesus, he just isn't accessing it.