Notices

Help, I'm dying of shame, humiliation and embarassment

Old 03-17-2013, 06:40 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Help, I'm dying of shame, humiliation and embarassment

Hi everyone. I'm new to SR today. I am feeling really horrible. I will explain what happened. On Saturday night we had a group of my husband's friends over for a bbq. Long story short, i had too much to drink way too fast and made a complete fool of myself. I hadn't even contemplated the thought of not drinking that night. I've known myself for quite a wile that I have problems with alcohol, but then I don't drink for a while and I forget the problems it caused me before. You see, when I drink too much too quickly, I get the most horrible, disgusting potty mouth you can think of. I mean, I was saying totally inappropriate and extremely explicit stuff in front of all the guys, not the sort of thing that should come from a lady's mouth. So I'm told anyway, I don't remember a thing about it. This is not the first time this has happened, it has happened although rarely, a couple of times before and when my husband who is absolutely furious with me, tells me about it, I can't believe that those things actually came out of me. It's like another person and so hard to deal with the embarassment. I just want to cry all the time. I hate myself so much right now. I'm afraid, REALLY afraid and so terriby deeply humiliated. I feel so alone and so sub-human. I have 3 young children who need me and I want to be a better person, someone who's worthy of the love and devotion they shower me with everyday, they are 3, 5 and 7 and I'm scared that I won't be able to get better before my daughter (the 7 year old) is old enough to realise what's up with me. I don't want her to know, I don't want anyone to know my dirty little secret. I told my hubby at Christmas time that I thought I'm an alcoholic but he said don't be ridiculous, you just drink a little too much sometimes. I'm a binge drinker, so I won't drink all week then