Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > New to Addiction and Recovery? > Newcomers to Recovery
Reload this Page >

I continue to fail...but maybe I can help someone else...here's my story..

Notices

Old 03-13-2013, 08:43 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I continue to abuse myself with recklessness. Disregard for life and family. I wanna stop...truely...but in my line of work...its difficult. Let me explain. I am a med tech for hospice patients. I deal with family and patients every single day with 6 months or less to live. And I work 12 hours a day...minimum. I never drink on the job. I love my job but hate it at the same time...I got into it because I want to commit my life to helping people...but yet I cant help myself...how bizarre is that? Its about as twisted as it can get. I see people day in and day out on there last days from vices like smoking, drinking, poor health, weak immune systems, ect... and here I am thinking I am 10 foot tall and bullet proof. Ridiculous!
Old 03-13-2013, 09:08 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I commend you for your job. My grandmother was in hospice for a long time - the staff there really made an incredible difference to her last days.

It was 20 years ago but I still get choked up with gratitude.

But...if the price you have to pay is all of this - maybe it's time to think about a new job TFL?

D
Old 03-14-2013, 04:10 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Hears The Voice

Your job sounds very stressful. If you quit your job, but continued to drink, what would your next step be?
Old 03-14-2013, 04:40 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Do you attend meetings, TFL?

All the best.

Bob R
Old 03-14-2013, 05:54 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

You may not be drinking ON the job, but the effects of the alcohol are still there.
Old 03-14-2013, 05:58 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Administrator