Notices

General changes after quitting

Old 03-10-2013, 10:40 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

General changes after quitting

Hello everyone! I'm a 36 year old musician who needed to drink to get on stage. I've partied 3-4 nights a week for 11 years and tapered off to now where I'm going every other month. I was a social binge drinker. Still performing. But I'm ok not drinking at work now. I prefer being sober playing now. I just get the urge every couple months to go cut loose. Problem is i dont have the off switch. So im blacked every time. Well I'm wondering what to expect physically from not drinking. It's been almost two months. I'm craving sugar and chocolate. Like to the point of binge eating. Also I still have anxiety and I'm kinda moody. How long does it take to level out? What should I expect? Thanks for your time
Old 03-10-2013, 10:53 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Everyone is different. I was a daily drunk and I'm now at 160 days sober. The sugar craving went away after about two months. Two weeks ago I stopped taking anxiety meds and I'm feeling very much in control. You should just concentrate on being sober. Let your body heal. Oh and my heartburn went away after about four months. I heard someone say it takes about a month for every year of abuse. It sounds about right. Life gets better and saying no gets easier.
Old 03-10-2013, 10:58 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Congrats on your sobriety! And thanks for replying! It's been a long time coming. I feel like I'm in a good place but still cautious. I turned down partying this weekend so that was good! Stayed home and ate junk. I've hear it could take over a year to mentally straighten out.
Old 03-10-2013, 11:03 PM
  # 4 (permalink)