Notices

Felt i had to admit i had a problem

Old 03-07-2013, 07:19 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Felt i had to admit i had a problem

I'm only 20, but i have been drinking non stop for the last 6 months. I Used to get really drunk about once or twice awake from age 18-19, but recently its become more of an addiction.

ive never admitted this before so i feel ive turned a corner. the last few weeks ive managed just 1 day off alcohol then im back on it again.

today is my second day off it. i knew how bad it was for my brain and stuff and i feel extremely sluggish during the day, so ive decided to go off it and give my body a rest.

i want to work hard in the future, but with the amount of brain cells ive been damaging im afraid i cannot continue this pattern.

ive struggled to find many reasons not to drink, and i still feel that i will be able to get back to drinking in moderation in a year or so.

i would really appreciate if someone could give me an estimate of how long my withdrawal symptoms will last, because im 2 days in and ive hardly slept for those 2 days.

Cheers,

Carlton.
Old 03-07-2013, 08:00 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome!!!

Hang in there! I don't have a problem with alcohol so I'm not sure how long withdrawals last.

But stick around. Lots of people will be here to help. Lots of strength here.

Old 03-07-2013, 08:08 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Withdrawal from alcohol is not easily predictable and it can also be very dangerous. Have you talked to your dr about stopping drinking? It took me a few days before I started to feel better physically. Just know for sure that you can get through this.
Old 03-07-2013, 08:09 AM
  # 4 (permalink)