Notices

Well, I'm here...

Old 03-04-2013, 10:50 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Well, I'm here...

Hi everyone,

I'm a 24 year-old university student in Edmonton, Canada, currently pursuing a degree in education, after completing a degree in science last Christmas.

I can honestly say I'm not an alcoholic, in that I'm not physically dependent, but I've been a bit of a chronic binge drinker (binge meaning usually an evening with 8-12 drinks alone in my bedroom, occasionally two consecutive evenings). I probably average two 26-oz bottles of spirits per week.

I know it's only moderate, but I also know it's far from healthy, and I want to address the issue before it gets any more serious than it is now. I've been trying to taper back, and after getting myself down to a couple "binges" a week, I've been sober since last Wednesday, so approaching 5 full days. It's the longest period I've been without a drink in probably a year.

Honestly, I feel great physically, but it's hard to ignore that little part of me that really wants to take a walk to the liquor store and pick up a mickey (a 375 mL container where I'm from). It's really surprised me just how serious the cravings can get, especially since I'm a science minded person, and I've only ever really considered alcohol to be "habit-forming", not necessarily addictive. But that's what it feels like!

I haven't broken down as of yet, and I'm sure I'll make it to tomorrow. And I'll tell myself the same thing then; I'm just kind of interested how much "better" I'll feel as sober days continue to tick by.