Notices

Hello

Old 02-28-2013, 10:19 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello

Hello all,
I am new to the site and just wanted to say hello. My name is Jay, 28 years old. I got a college degree in Engineering and I am very successful at my job. I was always in top notch shape. I would lift weights and run on a daily basis.
I bought my first house at 23 years old, got married at 25, had our first child at 26, second child this past year at 28 years old. My wife is a stay at home mom and does a wonderful job. I work pretty crazy hours around the clock. It is often stressful and demanding.
When I get home from work, things just get more stressful. My wife has a really hard time running a household and taking care of the kids, so what it turns into is me running the house (cooking, cleaning, laundry, lawn mowing etc) while she takes care of the kids. I have talked to my wife about helping out a bit more, but she gets very defensive and thinks that I am a jerk for not understanding how hard the house work is.
I am sorry for all of the background, but maybe it will give you a better idea here:
I have drank quiet heavily since high school (10 -12 years) but I would not say it was an issue. I would drink on the weekends for the most part, and had no problem having one beer/drink or none for weeks at a time.
Since I have been married the past three years, things seemed to have changed. I started drinking a little less beer, maybe more vodka/gin/wiskey. My wife did not like me having a drink (really at all) because she has never drank more than 1 glass of wine in a sitting. The drinking caused arguements in the past becuase she couldnt understand how I could have two or three vodka drinks when we would go out.