about acceptance

Old 02-21-2013, 09:42 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

about acceptance

It looks like I am chairing a topic meeting about acceptance tomorrow.
(I am pretty new to chairing) (I accepted to chair cause I wanted to chose the topic (guilt.) but topic got chosen for me.)

I can't help feeling that it's a AA/NA topic more than an Alanon topic.
( I read most of the entries in the index from the how alanon works and haven't found much to be excited about).

I have always accepted way too much my whole life.

The hardest things for me to accept are my own needs. I was always told
I don't deserve anything good and to not touch anything as I might break stuff that was too good for me in the first place.

I guess today I accept (or want to accept) my needs, I try to accept my shortcomings (and overcome them), I accept responsibility for my daughter and myself.

I'd love to hear what anybody has to say about acceptance.
I'll be trying to do my homework for the next little while (unless my little girl wakes up) and I'll check if anybody wrote anything. I'll probably do a quick search to.

If you have any alanon reading on this topic that you can recommend that would be appreciated.
Old 02-21-2013, 10:39 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Below are the words from the Big Book that come to mind related to acceptance:

And acceptance is the answer to all my problems today. When I am disturbed, it is because I find some person, place, thing or situation - some fact of my life - unacceptable to me, and I can find no serenity until I accept that person, place, thing or situation as being exactly the way it is supposed to be at this moment. Nothing, absolutely nothing happens in God's world by mistake. Until I could accept my alcoholism, I could not stay sober; unless I can accept life completely on life's terms, I cannot be happy. I need to concentrate not so much on what needs to be changed in the world as on what needs to be changed in me and in my attitudes. ~ p449 or p417