Life's purpose?

Old 02-15-2013, 06:41 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Life's purpose?

As a kid, all I wanted to be when I grew up was AWAY. I went to university, studied something practical, and now work in health care. The money was very good when I lived in the US, and that was a good enough trade-off for me. I knew from day one that I was not pursuing a passion, but a nice safe job in health care was my one-way ticket out of the family. In the country I live in now, the pay for health care workers is just crap, and I'm not willing anymore to stick around in this job for the next 36 years.

But what do I want to do? I am stumped. Self-expression is a big problem for me. I've been squelching my emotions and desires for so many years that I don't even know how I feel much of the time. It took me over 30 years to get into the position to even think about doing what I really want. Whatever it is...

Is it the same for the rest of you? Has anyone found the elusive life's purpose? Or is this just a myth and I am guessing at what normal is???
Old 02-15-2013, 07:57 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I would venture to say that a lucky few are those who find purpose and fulfillment in their chosen occupation. That is usually found in religion, hobby, your own family. Most do indeed work to survive and find their purpose elsewhere.
Old 02-15-2013, 12:08 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by farfaraway View Post
As a kid, all I wanted to be when I grew up was AWAY. I went to university, studied something practical, and now work in health care. The money was very good when I lived in the US, and that was a good enough trade-off for me. I knew from day one that I was not pursuing a passion, but a nice safe job in health care was my one-way ticket out of the family. In the country I live in now, the pay for health care workers is just crap, and I'm not willing anymore to stick around in this job for the next 36 years.