new here and a question

Old 02-13-2013, 01:14 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

new here and a question

This is my first time to post... I am in process of divorcing and I have met someone who works nearby. I have been talking to him for several months and I recently discovered that he has had the smell of alcohol on his breath a couple of times in the mornings (I see him before work). I questioned him about it, and he admitted he had a problem with drinking. And in the past he has went to AA - perhaps two years ago. He recently moved to the area a year ago and doesn't have many friends here yet. This past week, I was with him and I wanted to leave and he had been drinking and he wound up hitting me. I hit him back and he grabbed my neck and pushed me down. I wound up leaving. He has reached out to me since and we have begun talking again. He says it was an accident when he hit me. But when I hit him back is when he really got upset and that's when he grabbed my hair and neck and pushed me down. He is 40 years old and divorced also and has no children. I am just curious what others think. He says he is going to start going to AA and possibly a local church for help that has a support group that meets at a church where his father attends. I have two children and as I said am in the process of a divorce that is just beginning. Although my marriage essentially ended emotionally and physically (living in separate rooms in the same house) for a couple of years. My husband also has had issues with drinking as of recently. My husband has had issues with back problems and perhaps has been addicted to pain pills and alcohol. Although I don't think he is an alcoholic honestly. I just say all this so everyone has the full picture. Thank you for listening and I welcome your responses.
Old 02-13-2013, 01:21 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR.

What sort of childhood do you want your kids to remember? Start from there and a lot of things will become more clear.

CLMI