My Dad

Old 02-10-2013, 03:21 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

My Dad

Well this is my first time posting and I'm going to give a bit of background to make it easier for you guys. My name Is Gerard I am 16 and well my dad is an alcoholic. He is also a moody alcoholic and has a thing for being extremely rough, I like to avoid him and so does my mum but he literally drinks a 12-16 pack of cans every single night. He has been doing so for as long as I can remember. I was brought up around alcohol. I was frequently taken to the local pub to watch football matches and seen my alcoholic father and grandfather. My mum doesn't drink she can't stomach it. My mum has a constant fear that I will end up like my dad an alcoholic. I hate the stuff. I can't stomach it makes me feel sick too quickly. So I want to tell him he is an alcoholic because it is affecting my mum, brother and sister who are 6 and 8. It is literally tearing there relationship apart and my mum told me tonight that " She thinks sometimes that she'd be better off alone" As much as I love my dad but I agree with her and I do believe she would be. I was basically brought up by my mum with help from my dad occasionally but he has never been a big influence. He always has a reason not to do something with me. I try to take an interest in the things he likes and it always ends up that I am not good enough and he has no interest in the things I do. I want to tell him and maybe try and make him realise he has a problem and it's hurting me because I care about him and my mum. Any help would be appreciated.
Old 02-10-2013, 03:31 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
A work in progress

Hi there,

Sorry things are bad at home. While it's OK to tell your dad how you feel about his drinking, it isn't likely to make him change. He has a disease, and until and unless HE wants to change, he isn't likely to listen or accept what you are saying.