Notices

Betrayed by Doctors but Scared Straight

Old 01-29-2013, 05:17 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Betrayed by Doctors but Scared Straight

I found this site while searching for information on withdrawal. Just completed Day 5, or 120 hours since my last glass of wine. Wine has been my poison for about 15 years, at least 1 bottle, sometimes two a day. I had been drinking scotch for 10 years before that, but switched to wine after I got an ulcer.

Then began a period of denial.

Two years ago, while going through a divorce (my ex drank/still drinks me under the table), I thought I heard voices in our house. I asked her if she could hear them. She said, No. Then my heart felt weird and I got paranoid. I felt tremendous guilt about my drinking, so I asked her to take me to the hospital. The ER doctor took my vitals and blood, and said I was overreacting with anxiety, and gave me Xanax. The Xanax made me feel worse so I stopped taking it. I stopped drinking for a few months, then got back into it. I thought that perhaps I was just an occasional binge drinker, who did his heaviest drinking between jobs as a consultant.

And then came the wakeup call I didn't hear. I hadn’t slept in 3 days. I was in line for a salad for lunch at a local deli and then --- I didn't know what -- the next thing I knew, an ambulance driver was putting me on a stretcher. He told me I had had a seizure. Went to the emergency there. Another blood test. I told the ER doctor about my drinking, and she said I had a low white blood cell count, and that no one really knows what causes seizures (I later read that they result from some deficiency in the cerebellum, and that alcohol is particularly toxic to that part of the brain). She told me to take a multivitamin and sent me home.