The guy I was dating relapsed

Old 01-23-2013, 12:55 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question The guy I was dating relapsed

I have been dating a guy, who I really like. He was very upfront about being in AA and his need to attend meetings daily indefinitely. He shared his addiction history and what lead him into recovery 4 years ago. I am a therapist who specializes in addiction, and someone who is familiar with alanon, and based on what he shared and how he shared it, I felt comfortable moving forward. And then he relapsed - at my house, and I didn't know it. I knew he changed drastically that night but didn't see direct evidence of him drinking. Then, two days later, he tells we what happened, that he continued to drink the whole next day, that he hadn't been to a meeting in a month, and that he had already talked to his sponsor and was on his way to a meeting.

This is where I stop being a therapist and start being a person. I know he is doing all the things as I therapist that I believe he should do, but I also know, because of his honesty, that he has relapsed every year since he first entered into recovery. Same acknowledgement, same immediate report to sponsor, and same right back to meetings. Because of the pattern, and my fears, I ended it with him tonight. And it sucks because aside from the relapse, I really liked this guy and he liked me. He was the nicest guy I've ever dated.