Notices

Newbie here; is med assisted detox always necessary?

Old 01-22-2013, 09:06 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newbie here; is med assisted detox always necessary?

Hi, all. New member here; last drink three days ago. Sunday I felt shaky and had to pay attn to snacking to get blood sugar right. Rehydrating was a given. Yesterday and today I feel fine outside of trouble sleeping but that's pretty standard and one reason I let this get out of control. So my question is whether or not med assisted detox is always necessary/do facilities always insist on it? I'm going to a walk in evaluation Thursday for an outpatient program.
Old 01-22-2013, 10:17 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome and congratulations on your three days.
To answer your question, without giving medical advice, is that everyone is different.
It depends on a lot of variables. My best adivice would be to see a doctor and be brutaly honest about your drinking. A health care provider can acess you and determine whether you need a supervised detox.
If you start to show signs of withdrawal head to the emergency room.

Keep us posted on how you're doing.
Old 01-22-2013, 10:20 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Recovered

Originally Posted by mrscoach2256 View Post
So my question is whether or not med assisted detox is always necessary/do facilities always insist on it?
No. Assisted detox not always necessary.
No. Facilities don't always insist on it.

Do what's right for YOU. An evaluation of your particular situation would be wise.

Old 01-22-2013, 10:25 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Forum Leader